From 1956, the year of Salgaocar SC’s establishment, it has been an era of sustained development, hard work and glory. It was a keen interest in football that initially prompted Vasudev Salgaocar to conduct friendly ties between the local youth and the crew of ships calling at Mormugao Port. The ties were conducted in local paddy fields, and largely attended, for football is one addiction most Goans share. As his industrial empire grew to new heights, Salgaocar crystallized his penchant for football in an organized fashion and formed the Salgaocar SC in 1956.

Salgaocar Football Club as it later came to be known, is an Indian professional football club based in Vasco, Goa. They are owned by the V. M. Salgaocar Group of Companies and play in the I-League and Goa Professional League.

Salgaocar FC became the first Goan side to win the NFL in 1998-99 under the guidance of coach Shabbir Ali.

Tilak Maidan is their home ground located in Vasco. Salgaocar FC have won twenty Goa League Champions, four Federation Cups, two Super Cups, three Durand Cups and won the National Football League in 1998-1999 in addition to the I-League title in 2010-11 after the National Football League was re-christened in 2007. Their home jersey is green shirt with white shorts while the away strip is red/black.

The year 1956 may well be described as the dawn of a new era in Goan football. The year when Goa would gain its own football team. It was the birth of a dream, a dream that was conceived in the heart of the football loving Mr. V.M. Salgaocar, founder President of the VM Salgaocar Group of Companies, to give a platform to the Goan youth to showcase their talent to the country, and to the world.

The year 1961 saw India liberate Goa from the rule of the Portuguese. Goa was now a territory of the Indian Union. In 1962, Salgaocar Football Club became the first Goan team to be extended an invitation to play in the prestigious Durand Cup in New Delhi, and such was the joy of a Goan team’s participation in the Durand Cup, that the Late Prime Minister Mr. Jawaharlal Nehru felicitated the team at his residence.

Salgaocar successfully annexed all possible trophies on the Indian circuit thereby etching their name amongst the top teams in the country. A National League triumph in 1999, 3 Federation Cups in 1988, 1989 & 1997, the Super Cup in 1997 & 1999, the prestigious Rovers Cup, Mumbai, in 1989, 1996 & 1999, the Durand Cup, Delhi, twice in 1999 & 2003, the Sait Nagjee, Calicut, in 1987 and TFA shield at Madurai, in 1979. Salgaocar Sports Club have also been crowned Goa State Champions for a record 19 times including winners for 3 consecutive years of the Goa Professional League in 2002-2003, 2003-2004 and 2004-2005. The Club also won the Governor’s Cup in the years 1999 and 2001. The late 1980s and the 1990s saw Salgaocar FC consistently bag trophies such as the Federation Cup, the I-Leeague (formerly the National Football League), the Durand Cup, Rovers Cup and the Super Cup, thus justifiably earning the sobriquet “Soccer Kings”. Such was Salgaocar Sports Clubs consistency in winning tournaments year after year that their exploits soon became folklore.

Federation cup wins in 1988, 1989 and 1997 saw Salgaocar Football Club represent India as its Champion Club at the international level in the IX & X Asian Club Championships in 1989 at Muscat & 1990 at Dhaka respectively and in 1999 in the IX Asian Cup Winners Cup. Though the team failed to progress beyond the initial rounds, they did remarkably well against their highly illustrious opponents.

Players like Bruno Coutinho, Bramhanand Shankhwalkar went on to win the Arjuna award, the highest sports recognition in the country conferred by the Government of India. Lawrence Gomes, Franky Baretto, Bento Andrew, Arnold Rodrigues, Roy Baretto, Derrick Pereirra, Savio Madeira, Candidio Abreu, Menino Figuereido were legends whose fame extended well beyond the sandy shores of Goa thus not only permanently engraving their names in the history of the club and the hearts of its fans, but also as top quality Indian players who earned laurels for the country.

In the I-League 2010-11 season Salgaocar SC won the title and with this win they qualified for the 2012 Asian Champions League qualifying round. They went on to win the Federation Cup that same year as they beat East Bengal 3-1 in the finals to complete the double.

In 2014-15 Salgaocar FC went on a 19-game unbeaten run at the start of the season that saw them clinch their 20th Goa Pro League title. They also annexed their third Durand Cup title in the same year, with the tournament played on Goan soil for the very first time in it’s illustrious 127 year history.