Glorytales of Indian Football: Salgaocar and emergence of Goa as an Indian powerhouse

Nowadays Goa is not a giant in Indian football, but a few years back they produced tons of talented footballers – starting from legendary Neville D’Souza, Derrick D’Souza, Brahmanand Sankhwalkar, Bruno Coutinho, Candido Abreu, Mauricio Afonso, Derrick Pereira to Climax Lawrence, Clifford Miranda, Mahesh Gawli, John Dias, Anthony Pereira etc.

Goa, in-spite of producing such talents, did not possess a club which could compete with the giants from Kolkata, Punjab and Hyderabad. Vasco SC, the oldest club of Goa, could not cope up with the competition from their national rivals. This picture started to change in the 1980s. Salgaocar S.C, founded as Vimson FC in 1955, was the first club to show Indians that Goanese teams can also own the national stage when they became Federation Cup champions in 1988 and 1989.

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *